Drawing Now Alternative: Paris - Bastille

9 - 12 June 2021
Opening Tuesday, June 8, 2021
Open to the public Wednesday, June 9 to Sunday, June 13, 2021
https://www.drawingnowartfair.com/

For the 2021 edition, painters Christian Bonnefoi, Claude Viallat and Philippe Cognée pay tribute to their friend Jean-Pierre Pincemin, whom the Oniris gallery presents as a "focus" at the Drawing Now art fair.

For the Oniris gallery, which exhibited Jean-Pierre Pincemin regularly during his lifetime (in Rennes and at art fairs), this is the first major meeting around his work since his passing in 2005. Far from preparatory sketches, we find in the papers of Philippe Cognée his own style. He uses color as well as black and white, charcoal, wash, ink, watercolor or even sometimes encaustic which is often associated with his work on canvas. Even on paper, Claude Viallat has been regularly declining his imprint on various supports for over 60 years. This simple form, tirelessly reproduced with a stencil and brushes bent from radiators on colored supports, induces its share of randomness by its manual execution. Christian Bonnefoi's wall collages are contemporary to his paintings, of which they constitute a kind of experimentation. Created without boundaries, the work of space becomes a determining factor: they are therefore inlays of colored monochrome cutouts, created for the occasion or borrowed from other works. They are games of construction, without determined goal.

about Drawing Now Alternative 2021

About fifty galleries are gathering to offer an alternative event in a former department store at 42 rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, Paris 12e. Visitors will be invited to register by time slot in order to benefit from a comfortable visit while respecting sanitary protocols. Tuesday June 8 and Wednesday June 9 will be reserved for even more privileged visits. With this new format, the team of the contemporary drawing fair is renewing its DNA after having invested in different places at its beginning. Drawing Now Alternative adapts to guarantee a space of discovery and meetings before the summer around the diversity of contemporary drawing of the last 50 years.

 

About fifty galleries are gathering to offer you an alternative event in a former department store at 42 rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, Paris 12e. Visitors will be invited to register by time slots in order to benefit from a great comfort of visit in the respect of the sanitary protocols. Tuesday June 8 and Wednesday June 9 will be reserved for even more privileged visits. With this new format, the team of the contemporary drawing fair is renewing its DNA after having invested in different places at its beginning. Drawing Now Alternative has been adapted in order to guarantee a space for discovery and encounters before the summer around the diversity of contemporary drawing of the last 50 years.

Drawing Now Alternative: Paris - Bastille

Vernissage mardi 8 et mercredi 9 juin 2021
Ouverture du jeudi 10 au dimanche 13 juin 2021
https://www.drawingnowartfair.com/

Lors de l’édition 2021 de DRAWING NOW ART FAIR, les peintres Christian Bonnefoi, Claude Viallat et Philippe Cognée rendent hommage à leur ami Jean-Pierre Pincemin que la galerie présente en « focus ».

 

Pour la galerie Oniris qui a exposé Jean-Pierre Pincemin régulièrement de son vivant (à Rennes et lors de salons), il s’agit du premier rendez-vous majeur autour de son œuvre depuis sa disparition en 2005. Bien loin d’esquisses préparatoires, on retrouve dans les papiers de Philippe Cognée un style propre. Il utilise aussi bien la couleur que le noir et blanc, le fusain, que le lavis, l’encre, l’aquarelle ou même parfois l’encaustique qui est souvent associée à son travail sur toile. Même sur papier, Claude Viallat décline de manière régulière son empreinte sur des supports divers depuis plus de 60 ans. Cette forme simple, reproduite inlassablement à l’aide d’un pochoir et de pinceaux coudés de radiateurs sur des supports colorés, induit sa part d’aléatoire de par son exécution manuelle. Les collages muraux de Christian Bonnefoi sont contemporains à ses tableaux dont ils constituent en quelque sorte une forme d’expérimentation. Réalisés sans limites, le travail de l’espace devenant déterminant : ils sont donc des incrustations de découpages de monochromes colorés, créés pour l’occasion ou empruntés à d’autres œuvres. Ce sont des jeux de construction, sans but déterminé.

 

à propos de Drawing Now Alternative 2021

Dans le contexte sanitaire actuel, pour son édition 2021 le salon Drawing Now Art Fair devient Drawing Now Alternative! et quitte le Carreau du Temple pour un lieu inédit dans le quartier Bastille, Paris 12e. Une cinquantaine de galeries se rassemblent pour vous proposer un événement alternatif au sein d’un ancien grand magasin au 42 rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine, Paris 12e. Les visiteurs seront invités à s’inscrire par créneaux horaires afin de bénéficier d’un grand confort de visite dans le respect des protocoles sanitaires. Les mardi 8 et mercredi 9 juin seront réservés pour des visites encore plus privilégiées. Avec ce nouveau format, l’équipe du salon du dessin contemporain renoue avec son ADN après avoir investi différents lieux à ses débuts. Drawing Now Alternative s’adapte afin de garantir un espace de découverte et de rencontres avant l’été autour de la diversité du dessin contemporain de ces 50 dernières années.