Carole Rivalin: recent works

Overview

Taking line and line as her starting point, Carole Rivalin deploys a series of works with variable geometry and changing perspectives (drawings, sculptures, installations) that bring into play both flat space and volume, surface and depth.

 

Fold and unfold, full and empty, white and colours (like those of the rainbow) respond rather than oppose each other. Thus, through their dialogue with light, the artist's works offer infinite projections and other shadows, composing with the space - be it exhibition, architectural, urban, religious, natural, etc. - that is being exhibited. - whether exhibition, architectural, urban, religious, natural, etc. - in which they are inscribed and whose "vision" they renew.

 

Since Carole Rivalin's arrival at the gallery in 2015, the emblematic series "Over the rainbow" has been particularly highlighted, notably to echo her in situ installation at the Musée des Beaux-Arts in Rennes. While these works will be presented in this exhibition, the focus will be on her latest and new "Voyage" series of works. Faced with the impossibility of travelling, Carole Rivalin has set up a series of drawings on geographical maps. A way of travelling on roads, paths, in the mountains, at sea and in rivers... This series of drawings is presented as tapestries, decorative works whose meaning and primary function is forgotten. This sense which simply leads us to escape through shapes and colours.

 

This exhibition is held in the Oniris - 40 Gallery, a space which, thanks to its decompartmentalized architecture, allows a more fluid dialogue between the works. The "Over the Rainbow", "Gamme" and "Cartographie" series will be brought together in the same space in order to underline the work on gesture, space and colour.

 

 

this exhibition is supported by the galleries / exhibitions of the French Centre National des Arts Plastiques

Virtual Exhibition
click on the image above to access the virtual tour without any installation on your device
Works
Installation Views

Carole Rivalin: Travaux récents

Vue d'ensemble

Prenant pour point de départ le trait et la ligne, Carole Rivalin déploie un ensemble d’œuvres à géométrie variable et aux perspectives changeantes (dessins, sculptures, installations) qui mettent en jeu et en espace plan et volume, surface et profondeur.

 

Pli et dépli, plein et vide, blanc et couleurs (à l’instar de celles de l’arc-en-ciel) se répondent plutôt qu’ils ne s’opposent. Ainsi, par leur dialogue avec la lumière, les œuvres de l’artiste offrent d’infinies projections et autres ombres portées, composant avec l’espace — qu’il soit d’exposition, architectural, urbain, religieux, naturel, etc. — dans lequel elles s’inscrivent et dont elles renouvellent la « vision ».

 

Depuis l’arrivée de Carole Rivalin en 2015 à la galerie, la série emblématique « Over the rainbow » a été particulièrement mise en avant notamment pour faire écho à son installation in situ au Musée des Beaux-Arts de Rennes. Si ces œuvres seront présentées dans cette exposition, il va s’agir surtout de mettre à l’honneur sa dernière et nouvelle série d’œuvres « Voyage ». Face à l’impossibilité de voyager, Carole Rivalin a mis en place une série de dessins sur des cartes géographiques. Une façon de se déplacer sur les routes, les chemins, en montagne, en mer et en rivière… Cette série de dessins se présente comme des tapisseries, des œuvres décoratives dont on oublie le sens et la fonction première. Ce sens qui nous amène tout simplement à nous évader au travers des formes et des couleurs.

 

Cette exposition se tient dans la Galerie Oniris — 40, un espace qui, grâce à son architecture décloisonnée, permet un dialogue plus fluide entre les œuvres. Les séries "Over the Rainbow", "Gamme" et "Cartographie" seront mises en relation dans un même espace afin de souligner le travail sur le geste, l’espace et la couleur.

 

 

cette exposition reçoit le soutien aux galeries / expositions du Centre National des Arts Plastiques

Visite virtuelle
cliquez sur l'image ci-dessus pour accéder à la visite virtuelle sans aucune installation sur votre appareil
Œuvres
Vues d'accrochage